MUL appoints three eminent academics as its distinguished professors

Former President of Maldives appointed professor for Minhaj University Lahore

Minhaj University Lahore has appointed three eminent scholars in the fields of education, peace, and security, conferring upon them the title of Professor. These distinguished professors include Dr. Mohammad Wahid Hassan Manik from Maldives, Professor General Teto Karnawin, Minister of Interior from Indonesia, and Professor Rohan Gunaratna.

The notification of their appointments was issued by the Board of Governors of Minhaj University Lahore, Deputy Chairman Professor Dr. Hussain Mohi-ud-Din Qadri, on March 29, 2024.

Dr. Wahid earned his PhD degree from Stanford University in the United States and has previously served with UNICEF, UNDP, and UNESCO.

Dr. Teto Karnawin obtained his PhD degree from Nanyang Technological University in Singapore. Prior to this, he has served as the Chief of Police in Indonesia, Chief of the National Counterterrorism Agency, and Chief of Special Detachment 88.

Professor Gunaratna received his PhD degree from St. Andrews University. He is an internationally renowned scholar in the field of political violence and terrorism, serving as the founder and head of the International Centre for Political Violence and Terrorism Research (ICPVTR) and the Rajaratnam School of International Studies (RSIS).

Deputy Chairman of Board of Director of MUL, Professor Dr. Hussain Mohi-ud-Din Qadri, stated in his message that all three personalities have achieved a distinguished position in their respective fields through their extraordinary dedication, and Minhaj University Lahore is honored to appoint them as distinguished professors as a mark of recognition of their exemplary services in their respective fields.

He further stated that for the establishment of a harmonious world, we need to prepare a generation of leaders who are committed to global peace and harmony, and in this regard, MUL looks forward to guidance from these three personalities.

Established in 1986 by Shaykh-ul-Islam Dr. Muhammad Tahir-ul-Qadri, Minhaj University Lahore is working in eleven faculties, including Computer Science and Information Technology, Basic Sciences and Mathematics, Economics and Management Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities, Various International Languages, Shariah and Islamic Studies, Engineering, Allied Health Sciences, Applied Sciences, Law, and Pharmacy, offering more than 150 undergraduate and postgraduate programs in these faculties.

Minhaj University Lahore is the first university in Pakistan to establish the School of Peace and Counterterrorism Studies. A series of international conferences are also being held at Minhaj University regularly to promote moderation, tolerance, and mutual coexistence worldwide.